02.03.2022 Commitment to a Joint European Future

Ten European universities under the leadership of Philipps-Universität Marburg strive for a "European University Alliance”

Prof. Dr. Thomas Nauss welcomed the representatives of the partner universities.
Photo: Christina Mühlenkamp
Prof. Dr. Thomas Nauss welcomed the representatives of the partner universities.

Ten European institutions of higher education came together on Monday, February 28, 2022 with the intention to form a future "European University Alliance", thus embracing the desire of the European Universities Initiative to strengthen strategic partnerships across Europe. It is their common goal to promote European values, strengthen European identity, and increase the attractiveness and international competitiveness of European universities.

With the ongoing pandemic still limiting mobility options, representatives of the participating institutions came together in a formal online ceremony to sign a Memorandum of Understanding, thereby underlining their commitment to creating a joint European University Alliance. The meeting showed the range of participating countries, from Bosnia-Herzegovina to the Czech Republic, France, Ireland, Italy, Serbia, Spain, and Turkey.

„It was an elaborate process, but we are very proud to be able to involve both long-term and new cooperation partners in our project," says Petra Kienle from the International Office and Family Services at Philipps-Universität Marburg. "Europe's strength lies in its diversity. Our initiative shows that once again," says Kienle. “The conclusion of this agreement marks the first formalized step of the connection we have created over the past months and years. With great excitement, I am looking forward to the years of collaboration to come and the great changes our commitment will bring to the European Higher Education Landscape.”, explains Prof. Dr. Thomas Nauss, President at the University of Marburg.

The partners of the Alliance

Under the leadership of the University of Marburg and in close cooperation with Justus Liebig University Giessen, the following universities joined in the project:

Université de Limoges (France), Univerzitet Singidunum (Serbia), Maynooth University (Ireland), Università della Calabria (Italy), Universidad Pontificia Comillas (Spain), Sveučilište u Mostaru (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Západočeská univerzita v Plzni (Czech Republic), Çukurova Üniversitesi (Turkey).

European University Alliances

The "European University Alliances" were developed jointly by higher education institutions, student organizations, EU member states, and the EU Commission. They follow the idea of "European Universities", first called for by the European Council in 2017. European University Alliances support systemic, structural and sustainable transnational cooperation between different higher education institutions across Europe, covering all mission areas: education, research, innovation and transfer into society. The European Education and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) will make a final decision on the establishment of a "European University Alliance" in fall/winter 2022.