26.10.2022 Rectors and Presidents of the "European University for Peace, Justice, and Inclusive Societies" Further Develop Their Common Vision in Marburg

The Participants of the Rectors' Meeting of the EUPeace Network pose for a Picture. They are standing next to each other on stairs, facing the camera. The picture was taken outside, the weather was cloudy.
Photo: Sandy Halliday

Last February, under the leadership of the University of Marburg, the foundation was laid for the establishment of a European University Alliance with a consortium of selected European universities. On 24/25 October, leading representatives of all partners met in Marburg to further develop the common vision of this European University Alliance for "Peace, Justice, and Inclusive Societies" (in short: EUPeace) in workshops and intensive discussions, and to plan the next steps. With EUPeace, the member universities channel their missions of teaching, research, innovation and outreach towards fostering the conditions for peaceful, just and inclusive societies.

"Our Alliance stands for a Europe of the regions and for the European idea. I am very much looking forward to further cooperation in this consortium, which reflects the diversity of Europe and its cultures" explains Prof. Evelyn Korn, Deputy President of the University of Marburg, responsible for EUPeace. "Also, in view of the fact that war has returned to the European continent, we see the need to strengthen the European idea and to commit ourselves to it within the framework of a European university, more than ever" reinforces Thorsten Bonacker, Professor for Peace and Conflict Studies, and President’s Delegate for EUPeace at the University of Marburg.

The Alliance Partners

The EUPeace partners include, next to Philipps-Universität Marburg Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Université de Limoges (France), Maynooth University (Ireland), Università della Calabria (Italy), Universidad Pontificia Comillas (Spain), Sveučilište u Mostaru (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Západočeská univerzita v Plzni (Czech Republic), Çukurova University (Turkey). One additional university might be joining the network soon.

European Universities Initiative

The European Universities Initiative was developed jointly by higher education institutions, student organisations, EU Member States and the EU Commission. They follow the idea of the "European Universities" presented by President Macron in 2017. European University Alliances support systemic, structural and sustainable transnational cooperation between different higher education institutions across Europe, covering all mission areas: education, research, innovation and transfer to society. The European Education and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) will decide on the funding of new "European University Alliances" in summer 2023.


Prof. Dr. Evelyn Korn
Deputy President for University Culture and Quality
Phone: +49 6421 28-26008

Petra Kienle
Director International Office
Phone: +49 6421 28-26120