Main Content

DFN - German Research Network

The Association for the Promotion of a German Research Network – DFN association - is the central institution of science in Germany for the development and operation of its own communication infrastructure, the German Research Network.

DFN association realizes its statutory purpose in particular by awarding research and development contracts and by organizing services for the use of the German Research Network. It bundles the competence and experience of its members and passes this knowledge on to its users. It represents the interests of science in the national and international environment.

X-WiN

The X-WiN science network is the technical platform of the German Research Network. Via X-WiN, universities, research institutions and research-related companies in Germany are connected to each other, to science networks in Europe and on other continents. In addition, the X-WiN has high-performance exchange points with the general Internet.

With connection capacities of up to 100 gigabits/s and a multi-terabit core network spanning between approximately 60 core network sites, the X-WiN is one of the most powerful communications networks in the world.

-

Hauptinhalt

DFN - Deutsches Forschungsnetz 

Der Verein zur Förderung eines Deutschen Forschungsnetzes - DFN-Verein - ist die zentrale Einrichtung der Wissenschaft in Deutschland für Entwicklung und Betrieb einer ihr eigenen Kommunikationsinfrastruktur, dem Deutschen Forschungsnetz.

Der DFN-Verein verwirklicht seinen satzungsgemäßen Zweck insbesondere durch Vergabe von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaufträgen und durch die Organisation von Dienstleistungen zur Nutzung des Deutschen Forschungsnetzes. Er bündelt Kompetenz und Erfahrung seiner Mitglieder und gibt dieses Wissen an seine Nutzer weiter. Er vertritt die Interessen der Wissenschaft im nationalen und internationalen Umfeld.

X-WiN

Das Wissenschaftsnetz X-WiN ist die technische Plattform des Deutschen Forschungsnetzes. Über das X-WiN sind Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und forschungsnahe Unternehmen in Deutschland untereinander, mit den Wissenschaftsnetzen in Europa und auf anderen Kontinenten verbunden. Darüber hinaus verfügt das X-WiN über leistungsstarke Austauschpunkte mit dem allgemeinen Internet.

Mit Anschlusskapazitäten bis zu 100 Gigabit/s und einem Multi-Terabit-Kernnetz, das sich zwischen ca. 60 Kernnetz-Standorten aufspannt, zählt das X-WiN zu den leistungsfähigsten Kommunikationsnetzen weltweit.