Main Content

UMRnet

The Philipps University data network/university network (UMRnet) is connected to the Internet via the X-WiN science network of the German Research Network (DFN association). The science network connects universities, research institutions and research-related companies in Germany with each other, with science networks in Europe and on other continents.

The X-WiN is already the fifth generation of the German science network. It is a multi-gigabit core network with a total of about 60 nodes distributed mainly across scientific institutions, of which one node is located at the HRZ Marburg.

X-WiN and Internet connection

Fiber optics are used for primary cabling between buildings and secondary cabling between floors, enabling the creation of a 10 Gb Ethernet core network, with a maximum usable bandwidth of 2 Gbps.

For all hosts that are to be connected to an Ethernet LAN of the UMRnet, the connection must be requested from the HRZ. Hosts that do not offer services on the Internet (especially printers, workstations) can be connected to the UMRnet intranet for protection against attacks from the Internet.

Security measures

The UMRnet is protected by a number of security measures:

  • Virus warning service
  • Virus and spam filter
  • Mailer registration
  • Port filter

Services of the HRZ

-

Hauptinhalt

UMRnet

Das Datennetz/Hochschulnetz (UMRnet) der Philipps-Universität ist über das Wissenschaftsnetz X-WiN des Deutschen Forschungsnetzes (DFN-Verein) an das Internet angeschlossen. Über das Wissenschaftsnetz sind Hochschulen, Forschungseinrichtungen und forschungsnahe Unternehmen in Deutschland untereinander, mit den Wissenschaftsnetzen in Europa und auf anderen Kontinenten verbunden.

Das X-WiN ist bereits die fünfte Generation des deutschen Wissenschaftsnetzes. Es ist ein Multi-Gigabit-Kernnetz mit  insgesamt ca. 60 Knoten, die vorwiegend über wissenschaftliche Institutionen verteilt sind, wovon sich ein Knoten im HRZ Marburg befindet.

X-WiN und Internet-Anschluss

Für die Primärverkabelung zwischen den Gebäuden und die Sekundärverkabelung zwischen den Etagen kommen Glasfasern zum Einsatz und ermöglicht so den Aufbau eines 10-Gb-Ethernet-Kernnetzes, wobei die maximal nutzbare Bandbreite 2 Gbit/s beträgt.

Für alle Hosts, die an ein Ethernet-LAN des UMRnet angeschlossen werden sollen, ist der Anschluss beim HRZ zu beantragen. Hosts, die keine Services im Internet anbieten (insbesondere Drucker, Arbeitsplatzrechner), können zum Schutz vor Attacken aus dem Internet einen Anschluss an des Intranet des UMRnet erhalten.

Sicherheitsmaßnahmen

Das UMRnet wird durch eine ganze Reihe Sicherheitsmaßnahmen geschützt: 

  • Virenwarndienst
  • Viren- und Spamfilter
  • Registrierung von Mailern
  • Portfilter

Dienste des HRZ