Main Content



The Department of Physics looks back on a history rich in tradition. Outstanding scientists such as Denis Papin, Michail Lomonossow, Karl Ferdinand Braun, Alfred Wegener, and Otto Hahn all studied and taught in Marburg.


The department’s working groups are involved in a wide range of national and international research networks and projects. Their research focuses on semiconductor physics, surface physics, and neurophysics, as well as on the physics of complex and chaotic systems.


Students praise the department’s tutoring environment in particular. For example, tutorials are conducted in small groups mostly by people who have completed a degree in Physics, guaranteeing high-quality teaching.

Environs of the Department

The Department of Physics is located in the centre of the picturesque old town, nestled between the historic market square and the castle.