Main Content

Institute Activities

Identification of dickkopf-3 as a novel predictive marker for acute kidney injury

Acute kidney injury (AKI) is the most frequent complication in patients who have cardiac surgery. However, preoperative diagnostic markers for the identification of patients at high risk for postoperative loss of kidney function are missing. Hermann-Josef Gröne now contributed to a study published in “Lancet”, which shows that preoperative urinary dickkopf-3, a modulator of the Wnt/β-catenin signaling pathway, is an independent predictor for postoperative AKI. This could allow preventive strategies in patients at high risk for AKI.

Institute summer party 2019

summer party 2019
Foto: Thomas Worzfeld

After a fascinating guided tour through the beautiful Marburg castle, we enjoyed the wonderful weather with barbecue and beer. Cheers!

Glycosphingolipids as novel pharmacological targets in acute kidney injury

A new publication of the research team of Hermann-Josef Gröne shows that globotriaosylceramide (Gb3/CD77), a glycosphingolipid expressed in tubular epithelial cells of the kidney, could be a potential new pharmacological target in the treatment of acute kidney injury.

further information

Frank Czubayko and Thomas Worzfeld receive the Award for Excellent Teaching of the State of Hesse

Foto: Nadja Düvelmeyer
from left to right - Nora Jochens, Department of Surgery; Dr. Andreas Jerrentrup, Department of Emergency Medicine; Dr. Martin Sassen, Department of Emergency Medicine; Prof. Frank Czubayko, Institute of Pharmacology; Angela Dorn, Minister of Science and Art of the State of Hesse; Prof. Thomas Worzfeld, Institute of Pharmacology; Prof. Katharina Krause, President of the University of Marburg; Prof. Stefan Bösner, Department of General Medicine; Prof. Hinnerk Wulf; Department of Anesthesiology; Dr. Egbert Opitz, Manager of the Patient Safety Teaching Programme

The Award for Excellent Teaching of the State of Hesse 2019 goes to the teaching project “Decide wisely – treat safely” of the University of Marburg. As part of a team of 22 members of the Medical Faculty, Frank Czubayko and Thomas Worzfeld received the award on May 16th 2019 from Angela Dorn, the Minister of Science and Art of the State of Hesse.

Video presentation of the laureates

Information from the Ministry of Science and Art of the State of Hesse (HMWK)

Retreat at the Castle Rauischholzhausen

Retreat Rauischholzhausen Gruppe
Foto: Hana Sustovà

On May 16th and 17th, we had a joint retreat of the Biochemical-Pharmacological Center and the Marburg Graduate School on “Membrane Plasticity” at the picturesque Castle Rauischholzhausen. 11 research groups of the Faculties of Medicine, Pharmacy and Biology of the University of Marburg spent two fascinating days with great talks and intense and fruitful discussions. An exciting collaborative meeting, made possible by the generous funding of the UMR 2027 initiative of Marburg University!

Defense Laura Soto Hinojosa

Defense Laura
Foto: Sylvia Krippner

On Tuesday, May 14th, 2019, Laura Soto Hinojosa successfully defended her thesis with the title „MRTF/SRF-dependent transcriptional regulation for bleb-associated cell invasion and entosis”.

Congratulations, Laura, and all the best for your future research as Postdoc at the Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG) in Barcelona!

Tumor-associated macrophages play an important role for the synthesis of lysophosphatidic acid (LPA) in the ovarian cancer tumor microenvironment

A research team of the University of Marburg and the Max-Planck-Institute for Heart and Lung Research, including Dominique Brandt, Robert Grosse and Thomas Worzfeld, discovered that the concentrations of lysophosphatidic acid (LPA) in the ascites of ovarian cancer patients are strongly elevated. This correlates with patient survival. Further analyses showed that tumor-associated macrophages crucially contribute to lysophosphatidic acid (LPA) synthesis.

New Year's Party 2019

New Year 2019
Foto: Christiane Kleber

On January, 20th, 2019, the Institute of Pharmacology celebrated the arrival of the New Year.

A happy and successful 2019 to everyone!