Main Content

Validity of the Central User Account (Uni Account)

Uni Accounts are usually granted for a limited period of time and have to be renewed regularly:

  • According to § 37 HessHG, the Uni Account’s time limit is linked to your affiliation with the Philipps-Universität Marburg (or an affiliated institution), see Frequently Asked Questions.
  • In many cases, the renewal is automatic, e.g. for students by re-registration, or for collective bargaining employees and civil servants by contract renewal.
  • If the University Computer Center does not have your electronic contract data, renewal is only possible upon written application (for a maximum of one year or two semesters in advance), see Application Procedure.

A distinction is made between the official expiration date, lock date and deletion date:

User group Official expiration date Lock password Deletion account Deletion backup
Students End of semester
(03-31/09-30)
after 2 weeks after 3 months after 6 months*
Pupils End of semester
(03-31/09-30)
after 2 weeks after 3 months after 6 months*
Guest students End of semester
(03-31/09-30)
after 6 weeks after 3 months after 6 months*
Certificate students End of semester
(03-31/09-30)
after 2 weeks after 3 months after 6 months*
Archive students, ILIAS course participants, dormitory residents End of semester
(03-31/09-30)
after 2 weeks after 3 months after 6 months*
Civil servants, salaried employees, associate professors, honorary professors, private lecturers, post-doctoral students, lecturers, visiting scientists, scholarship holders, interns, guest house residents, external employees/guests End of contract or employment relationship after 1 months after 6 months after 9 months
PhD students provisionally until 12-01 (in Marvin extendable from October), or termination or disputation date after 1 months after 6 months after 9 months
usual function accounts determined by the applicant after 1 months after 6 months after 9 months
Self-managed function accounts determined by the applicant on the following day after 6 months after 9 months
anonymous guest accounts determined by the applicant on the following day on the following day no backup

*Data in home drive H: is not backed up for Students Accounts after account deletion.

  • Inhalt ausklappen Inhalt einklappen Validity details.Validity details.

    Students, Certificate Students, Guest Students (Students Account):

    The validity of the Students Account officially ends at the end of each semester:

    • Winter semester: March 31
    • Summer semester: September 30

    As a rule, a grace period of 2 weeks (6 weeks for guest students) is granted until the Students Account is blocked so that you can back up your data (see section "Blocking" below). The current expiration date can be found under Web form for identification data query (Students Account).

    Employees (Staff Account):

    The validity of a Staff Account officially ends with the end of the employment relationship (or with the fixed term date mentioned in the application form).

    As a rule, a grace period of 1 month is granted until a Staff Account is blocked so that you can back up your data (see section "Blocking" below). For the current expiration date, please see the Web Form for Data Identification (Staff Account).

  • Inhalt ausklappen Inhalt einklappen Renewal DetailsRenewal Details

    Students:

    The Students Account will be automatically renewed for the following semester by timely re-registering with the Registrar's Office within a few days.

    Certificate Program Participants:

    Your account will be renewed at the beginning of the semester (beginning of April / beginning of October) by the team of your certificate course, provided you have not yet discontinued your certificate studies.

    Guest students:

    You reapply as a guest student (by the end of April / end of October), a few days later your User Account will be automatically extended.

    Salaried employees and civil servants:

    The personal Staff Account will be automatically renewed by the University Computer Center within a few days in case of a contract renewal (after receipt of the electronic staff notification).

    Permanent employees must also renew their staff account annually via web form at the University Computer Center, thus confirming that the account is still in use. The University Computer Center requires this process as a life sign, since the account is provided for life, especially for emeritus and retired professors in accordance with § 37 HessHG:

    Web form for the renewal of Staff Accounts

    State employees UKGM Marburg:

    In case your contract is renewed, the University Computer Center will automatically extend your personal Staff Account within a few days after the start of the next month (after the University Computer Center receives the monthly electronic staff list).

    External lecturers in the School of Medicine:

    Renewal is done annually in December/January or semester by semester in March/April or September/October by the Dean's Office, see External Lecturers at the School of Medicine.

    All other user groups:

    Your data is not yet centrally recorded and processed, please submit a written renewal request (see application procedure).

  • Inhalt ausklappen Inhalt einklappen Locking detailsLocking details

    Students, certificate students, guest students (Student Account):

    • In case of a disenrollment or missed re-registration, the Student Account will be blocked 2 weeks after the end of the semester (after 6 weeks for guest students) by changing the password.
    • In case of withdrawal from enrollment (within the first half of the semester), the account will already be blocked 2 weeks after the withdrawal.
    • Guest accounts for conferences will be blocked immediately after the end of the conference.

    Starting four weeks before the blocking of your account (or shortly after the resignation), you will receive a weekly email notification informing you of the upcoming blocking.

    As long as your Students Account is not blocked, you can set up a redirection of your emails yourself. The redirections are effective even if your Students Account is locked, so your emails will be forwarded to you until your account is deleted.

    Employees (Staff Account):

    • If you don’t renew your Staff Account it will be locked 1 month after the official expiration date (by changing the password, deleting the authorization for SSH logins, deleting the .rhosts, .shosts and authorized_keys files).
    • Function Accounts with enabled self-administration will be locked on a daily basis.

    Starting four weeks before the lockout, you will receive a weekly email notification informing you of the upcoming lockout.

    As long as your Staff Account is not locked, you can set up a redirection of your emails yourself. The redirections are effective even if your Staff Account is locked, so your emails will be forwarded to you until your account is deleted.

  • Inhalt ausklappen Inhalt einklappen Deletion detailsDeletion details

    Students, Certificate Students, Guest Students (Students Account):

    A non-renewed (already locked) Students Account will be deleted 3 months after the end of the semester. After deletion, email forwarding to an external email address will also no longer take place.

    Your email account as well as your ILIAS profile will remain stored for 3 months after deletion and will be restored in case of re-enrollment during this period.

    Staff Account:

    A non-renewed (already locked) Staff Account will be deleted 6 months after the official expiration date. After deletion, email forwarding to an external email address will also no longer occur.

    Your email inbox, your files in the home drive H: as well as your ILIAS profile will remain stored for 3 months after deletion and will be restored in case of a new application for the account within this period.

    If an employee leaves the university prematurely, the deletion of the Staff Account can be requested directly (in this case an email forwarding for a maximum of 1 year is possible):

    Termination of use (deletion) German - PDF form
    Termination of use (deletion) English - PDF form