Main Content
  • Foto: Rolf K. Wegst


The Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy consists of five institutes: The Institute for European Ethnology/Cultural Studies, the Institute for Social Sciences, the Institute for Philosophy, the Institute for Sociology and the Institute for Comparative Cultural Studies, Cultural and Social Anthropology and Religious Studies. The institutes offer a total of three disciplinary BA degree programs and one interdisciplinary BA degree program (Comparative Cultural and Religious Studies), as well as disciplinary and interdisciplinary MA degree programs. In addition, it is possible to study the subjects of Politics and Economy, Ethics and Philosophy in the state-certified teacher education programs. The institutes and the departments also engage in numerous projects that link research and teaching.