Prof. Dr. Ulrich Tallarek

Ulrich Tallarek
Photo: Jessica Epstein

Head, Professor

Contact information

+49 6421 28-25727 +49 6421 28-27065 ulrich.tallarek@staff 1 Hans-Meerwein-Straße 4
35032 Marburg
H|01 Institutsgebäude (Room: D003 resp. 00/4030)

Organizational unit

Philipps-Universität Marburg Chemie (Fb15) Analytische Chemie AG Tallarek

Full Professor, Materials & Interface Science; Board of Directors, Materials Science Center

Curriculum Vitae


  • 1988–1994: Diplom-Chemiker (Eberhard-Karls-Universität, Tübingen, Germany)
  • 1994–1998: Dr. rer. nat., Thesis: "Fluid dynamics in chromatography studied by nuclear magnetic resonance" (summa cum laude), Advisors: Prof. Dr. Ernst Bayer (Institute of Organic Chemistry, Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen) and Prof. Dr. Georges Guiochon (Department of Chemistry, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • 1995–1996: Visiting Scientist (for six months) at the Department of Chemistry, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, USA, Advisor: Prof. Dr. Georges Guiochon
  • 1998–2000: EU Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow (Department of Molecular Physics, Wageningen University and Research Centre, Wageningen, The Netherlands), Topic: "NMR investigation of temporally and spatially resolved dynamics in porous media"
  • 2000–2007: Assistant Professor (C1), later Juniorprofessor (W1) at the Institute of Chemical and Process Engineering, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität, Magdeburg, Germany
  • 2000–2004: Dr. rer. nat. habil. (venia legendi for Physical Chemistry), Thesis: "Electrokinetic flow and transport in porous media: Experimental methods, numerical analysis, and applications", Mentor: Prof. Dr. Andreas Seidel-Morgenstern (Institute of Chemical and Process Engineering, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg, and Max-Planck-Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems, Magdeburg)
  • 2007–2011: Professor (W2) for Analytical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Philipps-Universität Marburg
  • Since 2011: Professor (W3) for Analytical Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Philipps-Universität Marburg
  • Since 2007: Board of Directors, Materials Science Center, Philipps-Universität Marburg


  • 2003: Desty Memorial Prize for Innovation in Separation Science, The Royal Institution of Great Britain, London
  • 2006: Young Scientist Award from DECHEMA e.V., which is the German analog of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (this prize is based on cutting-edge research combined with excellent teaching skills)
  • 2010: Offer for a chair "Microfluidic Chemistry and Technology" from the Department of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry, Eindhoven University of Technology (Eindhoven, The Netherlands)
  • 2010: Offer for a professorship "Microfluidic and Nanofluidic Analysis Systems" from the Department of Chemistry, Ruhr-Universität Bochum (Bochum, Germany)
  • 2011: Named Discussion Leader at the 2011 Gordon Research Conference on "Physics & Chemistry of Microfluidics", Waterville Valley, NH, USA
  • 2011–2012: Chairman of the German Chemical Society (GDCh), Marburg
  • 2013: Finalist, World Technology Awards, for category "Environment" (presented in association with TIME, Fortune, CNN, and Science)
  • 2013: Named as one of the 100 most influential analytical scientists in the world ("The Analytical Scientist Power List")
  • 2017: Recipient of the "Silver Jubilee Medal 2017", The Chromatographic Society, UK (for his significant contributions to the development and understanding of flow and transport phenomena in chromatography)
Hint: In case of inaccurate personal data, please inform the appropriate Personnel Data Agent.
1 The email addresses are only selectable in the intranet. To complete an email address, merge following string "" or "" to the end of the email address.