Main Content

Working Group 20 Critical Theory (2009–2012)

Poster AG 20 (JPG)

The Working Group Critical Theory was in existence from December 2009 onwards. It provided a discussion forum for doctoral candidates and students with an interest and research specialization in the field of critical social theory. Beyond a relatively informal exchange of ideas, however, a good number of projects also materialized. For example, a seminar on the traces of critical theory in Marburg took place in the winter semester 2010/2011 and spring semester 2011, focusing primarily on the examination of the estate of Heinz Maus, a Marburg sociologist and pupil of Horkheimer who died in 1978. In the winter semester 2010/2011, there was also a lecture series on "Topicality and Traditionality – the Task of Critical Theory" with several professors from Philipps-Universität. On the occasion of Heinz Maus's 100th birthday anniversary, the Working Group Critical Theory also organized a conference together with the Graduate Center for Humanities and Social Sciences from March 25 to 27, 2011, on the same topic. An anthology "'...wenn die Stunde es zuläßt'. Zur Traditionalität und Aktualität kritischer Theorie" ("'...if the hour permits it'. On Traditionality and Topicality of Critical Theory") was published to mark this occasion.

Former Members

  • David Nax.
  • Malte Voelk.
  • Felix Knappertsbusch.
  • Mark Lückhof.
  • Björn Milbradt.
  • Oliver Römer.
  • Sebastian Schreull.
  • Christian Spiegelberg.